Mile23

Motivation for your miles.

You won the day you decided to try…stay in the game!

6 Comments

onewin

2013 Lady Patriots

You’d think they won the world series right?   There were high fives, #1’s, the traditional throw the cooler of ice water on the coach…and smiles that rivaled the sun!

WE’RE #1!!!

er…

make that…

We WON ONE GAME!!! 

First and only win for the Lady Patriot’s Softball team this season…it was still a nail biter and DEFINITELY worthy of celebration.

It was only a few months ago, after a winning season, some of these same girls made it to the State Final’s in Basketball….only to be knocked out in the final four.  At the time there was a round of hugs and tears for all.

They are all still winners in my book!!!

caleb

“tears”

It reminds me of my own 26.2 mile finish in February(first and only one so far).   My own “victory” of sorts.  At the finish line, you will find the most dedicated and focused runners intent on beating their own time…breaking their own records at all costs.  As their foot crosses the finish line and they look at the time clock…you may see a joyful celebration …or a look of disappointment dependent on the outcome __:__:__.  Did they beat their PR, or fall short?

Mercedes14

“style points”

But me?   I heard the man on the loudspeaker proclaim that I was getting my “style points”.  🙂  When I saw my family, my first inclination was to go over to them and give them all “high fives”, I was so glad to see them, to actually see the finish line and to beat the balloon lady(the last official runner allowed to cross at 6 hours)!  I was really happy to find that I was also in an upright position….not crawling across the finish line as I sometimes had pictured in my head.  🙂 I slowly made it to the finish line with a time of 5:18:40.  I was happy.  This time, my goal was to finish….and to finish in less than 5 1/2 hours.  Mission accomplished.  Goal achieved.

In running and in life…you win, you lose.  Each race lends itself to its own victories.

It’s all about perspective.

You won the day you decided to try. 

Stay in the game!

“Success is peace of mind

which is a direct result of self-satisfaction

in knowing you did your best

to become the best you are capable of becoming.”

~John Wooden

Author: Julia

Running inspires me to live. It helped me remember what winning felt like during a season of loss. The Lord speaks to me most during the miles....because there I'm giving Him the time to do so. These are the things that motivate me to run. I hope they inspire you to live God's best for your life as well. Happy Running!

6 thoughts on “You won the day you decided to try…stay in the game!

  1. From Deb’s friend. Great inspiration. Glad he chose to share with me. Keep it up!

  2. Congratulations !! Makes ME feel good, to see YOU do it!! More power to you.

Leave a Reply

