Mile23

Motivation for your miles.

Old New Shoes…When is it time for new running shoes?

8 Comments

One of the perks of small town living…

When it’s time to buy a new pair of running shoes, there are very few options of stores to pick from.  So you get to buy exactly the same pair that you had before!  :0

To be fair, the store DID offer tennis shoes with the latest designs & colors…but none that offer enough support for my foot.  I wouldn’t consider them “running” shoes.

The people that know me can testify that it pains me to buy things for myself, so it would have been  helpful to at least feel like I was getting new shoes for the money I spent. 😀

…but that doesn’t really matter…

shoes

Old shoes on the left. New shoes on the right.

 Now, to the question at hand.

How do you know when it’s time for new running shoes? 

It has little to do with the amount of tread or wear on the outside of the shoe, but it has everything to do with the inside.

My ineffective and potentially harmful method of the past (for the last 3 years): 

Buy new shoes when you start getting blisters on your feet, pain in the arch of your foot, and/or aching in your knees after running.

In my best Dr. Phil voice, “So, how’s that working for ya’?”  NOT VERY WELL AT ALL.

My recommendation & new plan for myself:

You should buy new shoes every 350-550 miles.

Keep a running journal/spreadsheet to log your miles.

or

Write the approximate date that you will need to change them on the inside of the tongue of your shoes.

It is also recommended that you have more than one pair of shoes that you alternate.

For more detailed information on this subject you can click here:
  http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/tipsandtricks/a/replaceshoes.htm

I have enjoyed my asics gel nimbus 14 for their support and comfort, but I don’t really like the way they look. 

What’s your favorite running shoe?  What do you recommend?

Author: Julia

Running inspires me to live. It helped me remember what winning felt like during a season of loss. The Lord speaks to me most during the miles....because there I'm giving Him the time to do so. These are the things that motivate me to run. I hope they inspire you to live God's best for your life as well. Happy Running!

8 thoughts on “Old New Shoes…When is it time for new running shoes?

  1. Hey Julia,

    Love the mile 23 blog. I keep in excel spreadsheet on the miles I put on my shoes. When I get to 500 miles it is time for a new pair of shoes. I also use to wear asics but a few years back went to Montgomery Multi Sport and ran on the treadmill and they told me what was the best shoe for me. Since then I have been running in Newton Running Distance shoes and love them. They cost a little bit more then the asics but they are so light. I did not realize how heavy the asics were until I started running in the Newton’s.

    • Thank you Teresa! I’ve been wanting to get my foot/running evaluated…just haven’t done it yet. I looked up your shoes on line…I like the look of them! I appreciate your encouragement these few years, it really made a difference!

  2. I’m on pair #3 of Nike Pegasus 29+ Shield. Terrific support and no issues since I started with them.

  3. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13 for me – I went to a great (and very helpful) local store who analysed my gait and let me try on several pairs, both on the treadmill to determine the level of support required, and then outside the store to get a feel for which ones were most comfortable ‘on the road’. These were the best by far, and the most comfortable things I’ve ever put on my feet. I wasn’t such a fan of the lime green look initially but it’s grown on me.

    • I just looked at your blog…and I see that I already “liked” your post about your shoes. I like ’em…and the green! I’m going to have to do that analysis thing!

  4. I just got the Asics Gel Nimbus 14 running shoes last month and I love them. Mine are the hot pink/orange color and everyone comments on them…I call them my ‘happy shoes’ because I smile every time I look at them. I’ve been following the same painful method you mention to know that it’s time to get new shoes…my arches really let me know it. I keep saying I’m going to keep track of my mileage but then I don’t 😦 Maybe this time….?

    • I bet you never thought a pair of running shoes would make you smile 🙂 I found your color on-line before I went to my local store…they didn’t carry that color in my town. The spreadsheet really wouldn’t take long would it? It’s important for us to take care of our bodies! I don’t even realize it’s the shoes that are the problem at first…and then all of a sudden the light comes on…by then I’m hurting quite a bit. Learned my lesson now I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

