Mile23

Motivation for your miles.

Since I’m not allowed to talk about this on Facebook….

4 Comments

If you’re a mom, and you have a teenager, you already understand this. 

There is a whole unwritten FB manual on this topic, a secret code that can only be unscrambled in the teenage mind. 

Evidently I inadvertently break the “rules” often.

So…since publicly praising a young person on facebook is “embarrassing”, I will privately discuss them here on my public blog.  Somehow that makes it acceptable.

z71

In our community, a running group has recently formed.  We run 3 miles, 3 times a week at 5:15am.  I have been so impressed by the teenagers that run with us.  I mean really…how many young people do you know with that kind of motivation & dedication to their health?  Well…I know at least 5!  No one is MAKING them come, they set their own alarm clocks and somehow show up by 5:15am even with smiles on their faces!  I am very impressed with them!  I think that says a lot about who they are & where they are headed in life.

z70There is one young man that hasn’t missed a single run the whole 3 weeks since we began.  I just have to brag on him a little more.  My husband, Matt, had to work out of town yesterday, but on a typical morning run, Matt will run back and forth to check on all of us.  Particularly in the areas with little light.

For some reason yesterday was tougher for a few of us.  I had broken off from the group with a runner that wasn’t feeling well and headed back to our start/end place.  By the time we got back she was feeling better so we decided to go ahead a finish up our last mile.  When we arrived back about 6 minutes AFTER everyone else was finished & gone…he had waited on us to make sure we were OK.  He had ALSO already ran back to check on another person in the group that had a tough run.

He probably doesn’t even realize what that meant to me, but it’s not every day that you get to see such a thoughtful gesture by a young person.  So today I will restore hope in the hearts of moms everywhere.  Proof that the thoughtful, focused, teenage male does exist.  I just want to say how impressed I am by this young man….

….that I’m not allowed to show you his picture

…or say his name. 

🙂

Author: Julia

Running inspires me to live. It helped me remember what winning felt like during a season of loss. The Lord speaks to me most during the miles....because there I'm giving Him the time to do so. These are the things that motivate me to run. I hope they inspire you to live God's best for your life as well. Happy Running!

4 thoughts on “Since I’m not allowed to talk about this on Facebook….

  1. Is the reason you cannot mention him anything have to do with the high possibility that your daughter has a crush on this fine young man?

  2. What a gentlemen! That is very considerate of him.

Leave a Reply

