Mile23

Motivation for your miles.

Marriage and the Marathon

6 Comments

The Mercedes Marathon in Birmingham, AL is just two days away!!!  I’m just a little bit excited.  🙂
It seems that in all my accolades of Thanks earlier today (which you can read here)…I neglected to thank my biggest fan.  My husband, Matt.

Mercedes131
The other day I conducted a poll.  I had a theory to test.  I asked the people to describe marriage in a few short words.  I don’t think they would mind if I shared their answers.

Some of their response included:  commitment, compromise, teamwork, living for the other, hard work, warped, “It’s what YOU make it.”, Loving someone even when you don’t feel in love all the time, they laugh together they cry together  but at the end of the day it still = one Big <3,   Committed regardless of how you feel because the two have become one, Enduring commitment to God with one’s spouse. Daily choices to love.”

My theory was that no one would use the word “fun” to describe marriage.  Some came pretty close!  Just as in running, a “fun” run is often used to describe a 1 mile run.  The marathon, on the other hand has a different purpose.  It is 26.2 miles.  A commitment.  A challenge.  Seems impossible…and even “warped” at times.   You choose to run, even on the days that you don’t feel like it.  Most of their responses could be applied to training for and completing a marathon.   It is  a rewarding & life altering experience….and in retrospect, some might even call it “fun” as well.  Training for the Marathon always reminds me of marriage…

Matt’s not a big fan of social networking & blogging, so I try to leave him out of it for the most part.  But, sometimes I just can’t help it.  Training for a marathon with my husband, just makes me love him all the more.  His commitment through the miles is a picture of his commitment to me & our family.  He keeps me going through the miles on the road and in my life.  He watches out for me, encourages me, keeps me focused…and he’s even nice to look at along the way.   Thankful isn’t even a strong enough word for how I feel about him.

~Matt’s #1 fan~

Did I mention that the Mercedes Marathon is just two days away!?!

2 days!

Author: Julia

Running inspires me to live. It helped me remember what winning felt like during a season of loss. The Lord speaks to me most during the miles....because there I'm giving Him the time to do so. These are the things that motivate me to run. I hope they inspire you to live God's best for your life as well. Happy Running!

6 thoughts on “Marriage and the Marathon

  1. Good luck to both of you this weekend!

  2. Hope your race went well! I ran the 2011 Mercedes Benz Marathon and really enjoyed it! (The medal is pretty sweet, too.)

Leave a Reply

