Mile23

Motivation for your miles.

Mind Games

5 Comments

I found this written on my 8 year old daughters memory verse homework.  I thought it was funny, but so familiar to my running thoughts.  Running, like much of life, is very much a mind game.  I’ve heard it said that running is 80% mental & only 20% physical.

2015/01/img_4348.png

During the previous week, all of my short runs were completed with an average pace under 10:00 min/mi, which was a good time for me.  So here it was…long run day.  Like my daughter, I thought, “I can do this!! I can keep my pace under 10:00 min/mi even at a longer distance.”  


…and that’s when the “P.S. maybe not” began…

Here is a snippet of the conversation in my head as the run progressed:
 Me:  “I can do this!! I can keep my pace under 10:00 min/mi even at a longer distance.”  

Mind:  “No, you can’t keep up that pace more than 3 miles…what about those hills too?  You can’t do that.”
Me:  “Sure I can!”

Mind:  “Nope.  You’re not good enough.  Can’t.”
Me:  “You said that I couldn’t run 26.2 miles too.  But I did. Twice.”

Mind:  “Look, I told you so…during mile 4, your pace was 10:35 min/mi.  You can’t catch up now.”
Me:  “Sure I can.  I’ll show you.”

Somehow, during our argument…I got in the “zone”.  Notice, mile 5 was a NINE MINUTE pace!  When the little voice in my earbud told me that my pace was 9 minutes, I was so surprised that it knocked me out of the “zone”.  If you can tell me how to get back there, I’d appreciate it…I really enjoyed that!

2015/01/img_4347.png

So….brain…you lose.  I win again!
This is the picture that came to mind at the completion of this long run…

IMG_4321

 So don’t listen to it…just because your mind says so, that doesn’t make it true.

P.S.S.- My girl got a 101/A+ on her memory verse.  She did it!
🙂

Author: Julia

Running inspires me to live. It helped me remember what winning felt like during a season of loss. The Lord speaks to me most during the miles....because there I'm giving Him the time to do so. These are the things that motivate me to run. I hope they inspire you to live God's best for your life as well. Happy Running!

5 thoughts on “Mind Games

  1. Love this post!

  2. I so enjoy reading your post. You inspire me Julia.

Leave a Reply

